About Cyprus


Cyprus is the third larger Mediterranean island, with a total area of 9,251 sq. Km. Cyprus's geographical position - a stepping-stone to three continents
( Europe, Asia and Africa ) - is ideal as a center for international business.



The island enjoys four seasons, with dry summers and mild winters. Average temperatures range from 13 C in winter to 36 C in the summer.



The today estimated population of Cyprus is approximately 700,000.
Greek Cypriots form by far the larger ethnic group, accounting for about 80% of the population. Turkish Cypriots comprise the second larger group
( at 18% ), while others make up the rest.



The capital and the commercial center of the Cyprus is Nicosia with a population of approximately 210,000. Limassol is the main industry center and the main port of the island. The other two main towns are Larnaca and Paphos.



The economy of Cyprus is based on free enterprise, with most economic activity taking place in the private sector . The service sector which dominates the Cypriot economy, accounts for about half of the employment and almost 2/3 of its GDP.



Cyprus is a Presidential Democracy. Presidential elections as well as the House of Representatives are held every five years, the same with the parliament. Both of the elections are held by popular vote.


Currency and Banking

Cyprus has its own currency - the Cyprus Pound made up of one hundred cents. One Cyprus Pound is approximately equivalent to two US dollars. In addition to the six large local banks there is a number of International Offshore Banking Units operating in Cyprus.


International Relations

Cyprus is a member of the United Nations and the Council of Europe as well as member of the British Commonwealth. Nowadays Cyprus is a prosperous and beautiful island, and has been a member of the European Union since May 1st, 2004.

HomeAbout Us - About Cyprus - Useful Information - Contact Us - Special Offers - Property Search - Projects Completed - Properties for Sale -Properties for Rent